The Kerala Scholars eGroup has a simple, two-tier structure on the lines of H-Net. Reflecting the broad vision of the eGroup and the goal to uphold high standards, the following members serve at present.


M.T. ANSARI: Centre for Comparative Literature, University of Hyderabad (India). Author of Malabar: Desheeyathayude Ida-padukal, and articles on Kerala, including in Subaltern Studies XII. Co-edited Discourse, Democracy and Difference: Perspectives on Community, Politics and Culture.

MANALI DESAI: Dept of Sociology, University of Cambridge (UK). Author of State Formation and Radical Democracy in India, 1860-1990 and journal articles on Kerala, including in the American Journal of Sociology, Social Forces, and Social Science History.

J. DEVIKA: Centre for Development Studies, Thiruvananthapuram. Bilingual author of books, including En-gendering Individuals: The Language of Re-forming in Early Twentieth Century Keralam, and Womanwriting = Manreading?.

RICHARD W. FRANKE: Montclair State University, New Jersey (US). Resident of Ecovillage at Ithaca. Co-author of Democracy at Work in an Industrial Co-operative (Cornell University Press), Kerala: Radical Reform as Development in an Indian State, and Local Democracy and Development: The Kerala People’s Campaign for Decentralized Planning.

RAJAN GURUKKAL: Kerala State Higher Education Council, Thiruvananthapuram. Historian, former Vice Chancellor of Mahatma Gandhi University, and author of Social Formations of Early South India (Oxford University Press).

PATRICK HELLER: Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University (US), and Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi. Author of The Labour of Development: Workers in the Transformation of Capitalism in Kerala, India (Cornell University Press), co-author of Social Democracy in the Global Periphery (Cambridge University Press), and author of numerous journal articles and book chapters on Kerala.

SURAJ JACOB: Azim Premji University, Bengaluru. His work, including on Kerala, has appeared in Governance, Politics & Gender, and India Review.

ROBIN JEFFREY: La Trobe University, Melbourne (Australia), Australian National University, Canberra, and Institute of South Asian Studies, National University of Singapore. Author of the acclaimed works The Decline of Nayar Dominance; Politics, Women and Well-being; and India’s Newspaper Revolution, among others.

GEORGE GHEVERGHESE JOSEPH (Chair): Manchester Institute of Education, University of Manchester (UK) and Dept of Philosophy, McMaster University, Hamilton (Canada). Author of the classic The Crest of the Peacock: Non-European Roots of Mathematics (Princeton University Press) and A Passage to Infinity: Medieval Indian Mathematics from Kerala and Its Impact, among others.

DILIP MENON: Centre for Indian Studies in Africa, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg (South Africa). Author of Caste, Nationalism and Communism in South India: Malabar, 1900–1948 (Cambridge University Press), among others.

M.G.S. NARAYANAN: Eminent historian, Kozhikode. Former Chairman of the Indian Council of Historical Research. Author of Perumals of Kerala, 100+ research papers, half-a-dozen books in English, and popular essays and books in Malayalam.

CAROLINE OSELLA: Dept of Anthropology and Sociology, School of Oriental and African Studies, University of London (UK). Co-editor of Islamic Reform in South Asia (Cambridge University Press), co-author of Men and Masculinities in South India, and author of several journal articles on Kerala.

K. SATCHIDANANDAN: Poet of international repute, editor, translator, and academic, New Delhi. Honoured widely in India and abroad. Former Secretary, Kendra Sahitya Akademi.

AJAY S. SEKHER: Dept of English, Sree Sankaracharya University of Sanskrit, Kalady (Kerala). Scholar of Dalit Studies. Bilingual author whose works include Sahodaran Ayyappan: Towards A Democratic Future and Unknown Subjects: Songs of Poykayil Appachan (translation).

PRERNA SINGH: Watson Institute for International Studies, Brown University (US). Political scientist, Co-Director of the Brown-Harvard-MIT Joint Seminar on South Asian Politics, co-editor of Routledge Handbook of Indian Politics, and author of journal articles, including on Kerala.

C.S. VENKITESWARAN: National Award–winning film critic and film maker, Thiruvananthapuram. Bilingual author of books and articles on Malayalam cinema.


ASHOK R. CHANDRAN: Book editor and researcher, Palakkad. Previously, Publication Officer at Madras Institute of Development Studies and Senior Commissioning Editor at SAGE Publications. Recipient of New India Foundation fellowship.

In the past

2016/01 – 2017/10 – Ismail M.P. (List Editor – LE2)
2017/01 – 2018/12 – Muhammed Afzal P. (List Editor – LE3)
2017/01 – 2018/12 – Sudheesh R.C. (List Editor – LE4)
2018/04 – 2020/01 – Sindhu Jose (List Editor – LE2)
2019/01 – 2020/12 – Shilpa Menon (List Editor – LE3)
2019/01 – 2020/12 – Samseer Mambra (List Editor – LE4)

Note: LE2, LE3, etc. refer to the email address used and not any rank/seniority.

Tell others about this